A musical hero

It was thirty years ago today (as the song almost says) that John Lennon was murdered in New York.

Writing the word “murdered” above didn’t seem right. John Lennon’s death is always phrased as “killed”, occasionally “assassinated” or “gunned down”, but rarely as “murdered”. I’m not sure why, perhaps by not using that word it’s easier to put the manner of his death to one side and focus on the man and his musical legacy instead?

From a very early age, I was listening to the Beatles. An early Greatest Hits was one of the few tapes my parents and I agreed on for in the car. I grew up listening to the Beatles. When my friends and contemporaries at school were buying Guns’n’Roses CDs, I was buying Please Please Me, Revolver and A Hard Day’s Night.

Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr have always been my musical heroes. As I’ve got older, I’ve begun to listen to more of their solo material too. Discovering new Lennon or Harrison tracks I’ve not heard before is always a treat, and I do enjoy Wings and Paul’s solo material too.

I may have only been 3 when John was murdered on December 8th, 1980, but today I’m playing a lot of Lennon songs in his memory. A wonderful talent was taken from us too soon.

Peace, John.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

